Theme tree or hodgepodge tree?

December 7, 2005 at 3:54 am | Posted in The Good, Uncategorized | 4 Comments

That’s what I ask you. Which do you prefer? My preference is definitely a hodgepodge tree. My reasons are many, but the main one is that on a hodgepodge tree, there is always something new to discover. I have known a number of people over the years who do themed trees. While quite pretty, they just don’t do it for me. But then, I grew up on the hodgepodge tree.

One year, my sister had a themed tree. She was into the Victorian that year. (It was the early 90’s after all.) She spent quite a bit of money on the ornaments and bows for her 7′ tree. It was very pretty, but it’s not the same. When I have finished decorating mine, I will post a picture. I think adding a red bead garland adds a certain panache to the tree as well, making it seem richer than it actually is. LOL I am still in the process of putting that on. As we have our tree backed up to our built-in bookcase, it’s not easy reaching around the back alone. The last thing I have to do is find my tree topper. It’s somewhere in the storage bins. I just haven’t found it yet. πŸ˜‰

My husband bought a new digital camera Sunday. While there was nothing wrong, per se, with our old one, it was about three years old and seemed to be getting slower with every passing photo. Adults might be willing to smile for four or five seconds, but a child with a play agenda on her mind is not. With our old camera, I was almost always just missing that smile and catching the side of her head. LOL This one is much faster. I am still playing with the camera, but I like it much more than the old one. What is it? A Canon A620. It may not have the 10x optical zoom of our old camera, but it is 7.1 megapixels and very slick and easy to use. And, it was cheaper than our old one when we bought it new. Don’t get me wrong. Our old one was a great camera for its time (Olympus C-700) and was wonderful to have with us on our honeymoon in Tahiti. There were several places where the optical zoom was a nice bonus, but now? Now, we need something with a little more zip, higher megapixels and more compact. The view finder is also larger on the Canon. I am enjoying the new toy. LOL Of course, my husband, Mr. Gadget Boy, was beside himself with excitement. LOLOL

Some photos from the new camera:

The Tongue Brigade

The tongue brigade
Smiling with Daddy
Daddy and baby
Sweet, huh? πŸ™‚

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Cute kid yours πŸ™‚
    By the way, I have a Olympus C-770UZ which is a fairly newer model. Yes, it is slow but I don’t have any kids, so it’s ok for now πŸ˜€
    The digital SLR’s are supposed to be very fast. But they’re still too bulky to carry around all the time.

  2. Oops! Somehow my comment landed below……
    Just wanted 2 say,
    Enjoyed your post,
    and luv the pics….
    funny!
    πŸ™‚

  3. Thanks. We are partial to her too. πŸ™‚

  4. nice, comfy place you got here :)..


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

